You are on page 1of 2

C 72 E/88 Official Journal of the European Communities EN 21.3.


Wednesday 5 September 2001

 Report: Collins  A5-0249/2001
 final vote
for: Karas
 Report: Gerhard Schmid  A5-0264/2001
 Amendment 16
against: Berthu
 Amendment 19, 2nd part
against: McCarthy
 Amendment 20
against: Kratsa-Tsagaropoulou
 Amendment 23
for: Lund, Cederschiöld, McCarthy, Carnero González, Stihler, van Hulten
against: Grossetête
 Amendment 26
for: Dybkjær
against: Kratsa-Tsagaropoulou
 Amendments 6 and 28
against: Souchet
 final vote
for: David W. Martin
against: Garaud

Members not participating in votes:
 Report: Gerhard Schmid  A5-0264/2001
Terrón i Cusí on amendments 21, 5, 22-26


(The sitting was suspended at 13.45 and resumed at 15.00.)


27. Name of political groups

The President announced that the PSE Group had informed her of the following changes to the Group’s
name in French and Spanish:
 groupe parlementaire du parti socialiste européen
 Grupo del Partido Socialista Europeo

28. Conclusions of the G8 meeting in Genoa (statements followed by debate)

Mrs Neyts-Uyttebroeck, President-in-Office of the Council, and Mr Vitorino, Member of the Commission,
made statements on the conclusions of the G8 meeting in Genoa.

The following spoke: Tajani, on behalf of the PPE-DE Group, Barón Crespo, on behalf of the PSE Group,
Procacci, on behalf of the ELDR Group, Lannoye, on behalf of the Verts/ALE Group, Wurtz, on behalf of
the GUE/NGL Group, Muscardini, on behalf of the UEN Group, Cappato, TDI Group, Ferri, on the pre-
vious speaker’s remarks, Fiori, Napoletano, Di Pietro, Frassoni, Vinci, Segni, Gollnisch, Gawronski, Van den
Berg, Voggenhuber, Cossutta, Bodrato, Terrón i Cusí, Lucas and Marset Campos.
21.3.2002 EN Official Journal of the European Communities C 72 E/89

Wednesday 5 September 2001


The following spoke: Patrie, Alyssandrakis, Neyts-Uyttebroeck and Vitorino.

The President closed the debate.

29. Electronic communications ***I  Combating cyber-crime (debate)
The next item was the joint debate on two reports, drawn up on behalf of the Committee on Citizens’
Freedoms and Rights, Justice and Home Affairs.

Mr Cappato introduced his report on the proposal for a European Parliament and Council directive con-
cerning the processing of personal data and the protection of privacy in the electronic communications
sector (COM(2000) 385  C5-0439/2000  2000/0189(COD)) (A5-0270/2001).
Draftsman of an opinion under the Hughes Procedure: Ilka Schröder, Committee on Industry, External
Trade, Research and Energy

Mrs Cederschiöld introduced her report on creating a safer information society by improving the security
of information infrastructures and combating computer-related crime  eEurope 2002 (A5-0284/2001).

The following spoke: Ilka Schröder, draftsman of the opinion of the ITRE Committee (on A5-0270/2001),
McCarthy, draftsman of the opinion of the JURI Committee, Zorba, draftsman of the opinion of the ITRE
Committee (on A5-0284/2001).

As the time had come for the Council to present the draft general budget for 2002, the debate was
suspended at that point and would be resumed at 21.00 (Item 33).

30. Presentation by Council of draft general budget for 2002
Mr Vande Lanotte, President-in-Office of the Council, presented the draft general budget for 2002.

The following spoke: Terence Wynn, chairman of the Committee on Budgets, and Costa Neves, rapporteur.


Mrs Buitenweg, rapporteur, spoke.

The President closed this item.

31. Question Time (questions to the Council)
Parliament considered a number of questions to the Council (B5-0332/2001).

Question 1 by Mr Staes: Investigation of irregularities at Europol
Mrs Neyts-Uyttebroeck, President-in-Office of the Council, answered the question and a supplementary by
Mr Staes.

Question 2 by Mr Nogueira Román: Discrimination in the way in which the catch reduction decided
upon by the Council of Ministers has been distributed amongst the fishing fleets of the various Member
Mrs Neyts-Uyttebroeck answered the question and supplementaries by Mr Nogueira Román and Mr Varela