You are on page 1of 28

APPLICATION REGISTRATION

The Application Registration module of Doc Collaboration enables the administrators to register applications and provides its user maintenance.

The Application Registration, registers the external application , maps tables and imports users for the application.User maintenance creates and modifies the users for the Doc Collaboration application. Administrators can view the information of any users and can also delete a user. Normal users can view and modify only their information except their login name.

User can open the Application Registration module by entering its URL in the address bar of Internet browser for instance http://172.16.2.145/ doccollab/Login.jsp. The following screen opens as shown in figure:

FIG1.1: LOGIN SCREEN

LOGGING IN THE MODULE

To login successfully into the application: 1 2 3 Enter the Login ID and Password of the administrator. 4 Click on Log-in. This opens the main screen/home page of the Application Registration. 5 6 The main screen displays the links of User Maintenance and External Application Registration. The Logged in User information is displayed showing the name of the user currently logged-in. 7

8 The administration can log-out from the Application Registration module of Doc Collaboration by clicking Log Out . 9 10 To view information about Doc Collaboration, click About Doc Collab and the About Doc Collaboration screen is displayed as shown below in Figure 1-3. This screen shows the information about Doc Collaboration application such as version number, name of the team members involved in developing the project.

FIG1.2 APPLICATION REGISTRATION

11

Figure 1-3: About Doc Collaboration

USER MAINTENANCE

The User Maintenance screen shows a list of all the users currently available in the application. This is the administrator view. Administrator is the default user that has been created in the application. The administrator can log in the first time using administrator as both the login name and password. After this, the administrator can create other users who would be using the application.

Normal users see only the modify user view after they log in (see Figure 1-4), in which they can edit all the information except their login name.

Below the users list are the buttons for adding new users, for modifying a user, for deleting a user, and for changing the password.

Figure 1-4: User List

USER can login for the first time with the administrator login name and password. After this, the administrator can change the password, and create other users etc.

USER MANAGEMENT

The key aspect of application security is User Management. Application and data access is primarily controlled through the creation of users. User Management covers in detail the functionality to create and manage users for an application.

12 ADD NEW USER 13 MODIFY USER 14 DELETE USER 15 CHANGE PASSWORD

ADD NEW USER

An application user is best described as an individual who interacts with an application. Click on the New User button to open the screen for

entering the details of the new user:

Figure 1-5: Add New User note:Only an administrator can create new users.

MODIFY USER

Select a user in the users list and click on the Modify button to modify the details of the user. The screen that now opens is essentially the same as that for creating a new user. The fields display the information already entered for the user. Make the required changes and click on Submit to update the information in the database and to return to the users list. Click on Clear to clear the information entered in the fields, or click on Cancel to return to the users list without modifying the user

Figure 1-6: Modify User . Only an administrator can modify the information of all the users. The normal users can modify only their own information.

DELETE USER Select a user in the users list and click on the Delete button to delete the user. The application now asks for a confirmation before deleting the user:

Figure 1-7: Delete Confirmation Click on OK to delete the user and return to the users list. Click on Cancel to return to the users list without deleting the user.

CHANGE PASSWORD

This option enables the users to change their password. To do this, click on the Change Password button to open the screen shown below:

The steps to change the password are as follows: 16 Enter the new password in the field New Password. 17 Re-enter the new password in the field Confirm Password. 18 Click on Submit to change the password and return to the users list.

19 Click on Cancel to return to the users list without changing the password.

In all the screens, the link Log Out and About Doc Collab remains active. At any point you can click on this link to end your current session and return to the login screen or view the information about the Doc Collaboration application.

Figure 1-8: Change Password

EXTERNAL APPLICATION REGISTRATION

The External Application Registration shows the web based

user interface for registering external application to the Doc Collaboration application. This is the administrator view and the administrator will be allowed to Add/Edit the specified information about registering any external application.

The

External

Application

Registration

displays

the

registration information of the selected application and the administrator can register the new application by specifying the required information.

The information specified in the required fields should be real-time data. Below the registration information are the buttons to submit the information, clear the information, cancel the information, specify table mapping and import users for the application.

REGISTER NEW APPLICATION

Administrator can register the new application in the Doc Collaboration application. To register the new application, select New-Application option from the Select Application in the Application Registration screen shown in Figure 1-9 below. Specify Application Name, Table/View Name, IP Address, Service Name, PORT Number, User Name, Password, Connections. Minimum Connections and Maximum

Click on Submit to register the new application with the Doc Collaboration. Click on Clear to clear the information entered in the fields, or click on Cancel to return to the main screen of the Application Registration. Fields marked with an asterisk (*) are mandatory.

FIGURE 1.9:New Application Registration

Only an administrator can register new applications.

TABLE MAPPING

Table Mapping is defined in case users data is defined in different table format. When the new application is registered with Doc Collaboration application, after specifying the required information, the table mapping button is enabled on the screen (refer Figure 1-9).

Now click on the table mapping button from the newapplication registration screen to open the Table Mapping screen shown below. The Table Mapping screen displays the Table Name and Application Name. Maps the required

fields and click on Submit to update the information in the database and return to the application screen. Click on Clear to clear the information specified, or click on Cancel to return to the application screen. Fields marked with an asterisk (*) are mandatory.

Figure 1-10: Table Mapping

Only an administrator can maps the table fields.

IMPORT USERS

Import Users enables the administrator to import the users. To do this, click on Import Users to open the screen shown below. The Existing Users displays all the users of external application and the Imported Users list will show the users selected for having permission to access Doc Collaboration application.

20 To add the user from the list of existing user, select the user and click Add . 21 To add all users from the list of existing user, click Add All button 22 To remove the user from the list of imported user, select the user and click Remove 23 To remove all users from the list of imported user, click Remove All Add/Remove the required users and click on Submit to add/update the users in the database and return to the main screen. Click on Cancel to return without adding/updating the users list.

Figure 1-11: Import Users

Only Administrator can Add/Remove users from external application to Doc Collaboration application

24 IMPORT USERS