• book

From the Publisher

Perfect for fans of Ellen Hopkins—a heartbreaking tale of family tragedy and drug addiction where sometimes the best intentions lead to the worst possible outcomes.

Cecelia Price killed her brother. At least, that's what the police and the district attorney are saying. Although CeCe is now locked up and forced into treatment, she knows the story is much more complicated. Cyrus wasn't always a drug-addled monster. He used to be a successful athlete, but when an injury forced Cyrus off the soccer field and onto pain medication, his life became a blur of anger, addiction, and violence.

All CeCe could do was stand by and watch, until she realized an effective way to take away her brother's drugs while earning the money she needed for college: selling the pills. Only she never expected what happened next.

Published: HarperTeen an imprint of HarperCollins on
ISBN: 9780062324757
List price: $9.99
Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
Availability for Thicker Than Water
With a 30 day free trial you can read online for free
  1. This book can be read on up to 6 mobile devices.

Related Articles

Money
14 min read
Psychology

The High Cost Of Coping

FOR FIVE YEARS, CHRISTINE BYRD figured her teenage daughter was going through a phase when she became withdrawn from friends and family and brushed off meals at home. It was only when Pepper Snider turned 17 that she was diagnosed with anorexia, triggering five years of intensive treatment, including thrice-weekly therapy, residential care, and hospital stays. The total of $55,000 she spent out of pocket has left Byrd, 56 and widowed, with no retirement savings and five-figure credit card debt that she’s slowly paying off. “It was a long journey,” says Byrd of her now-28-year-old daughter’s re
TIME
5 min read
Society

A New Paradigm for Opioid Addiction: More Drugs

THE PHOTO WAS so startling that it almost seemed staged. In the driver’s seat, the man’s head is dropped back, his eyes closed, mouth agape, one hand draped on the steering wheel in front of him and the other in his lap. In the passenger seat, a woman is slumped toward him, the straps of her tank top off her shoulders. Both appear to be out cold. In the backseat, a young boy, the woman’s grandson, dressed in a blue T-shirt with a brightly colored dinosaur on it, looks blankly at the camera. The photo, taken by Ohio police officer Fred Flati, went viral when his chief and the mayor posted it
NPR
3 min read

Former Drug Czar Says GOP Health Bill Would Cut Access To Addiction Treatment

Michael Botticelli served as President Obama's director of National Drug Control Policy, and pushed Congress to pass a funding measure last year making more money available for the treatment of opioid addiction. Now he's concerned that the proposed Republican health plan will reduce access to health services for people with addiction. "We know that people with addiction, and particularly in the opioid epidemic, need access to high quality health care in general," Botticelli told NPR. "We know that many people who are injecting drugs have viral hepatitis. We've seen outbreaks in parts of the co