Start Listening

The Last to See Me: A Novel

Written by
Narrated by
Ratings:
9 hours

Summary

For readers of Lauren Oliver and Alice Sebold, a sophisticated, literary ghost story that reminds us the past is never, ever forgotten.

In a small logging town in northern California, young Emma Rose Finnis was born and died. Now, no one remembers her hardworking life and her grand dreams—but she remembers. She remembers everything. Emma Rose is still here, one hundred years after her death…and she doesn't plan on leaving.

But when a determined hunter arrives with instructions to "clean" Emma Rose out of her haunt, the stately Lambry mansion, death suddenly isn't the worst fate imaginable. Emma Rose refuses to be hounded from the only place she's ever found peace, even if it means waging a war on the living…and the dead.

Lyrical and haunting, this spellbinding American ghost story alternates between Emma Rose's life and afterlife as the past and present become entwined in a compelling tale of loss, love and tenacity over a century in the making.

Read on the Scribd mobile app

Download the free Scribd mobile app to read anytime, anywhere.